Artichoke: Recipes & Stories from Singapore's Most Rebellious Kitchen

Front Cover
Epigram Books, 2014 - Cooking - 272 pages
Featuring over 90 recipes with full coloured photos and written in a casual, approachable style, this cookbook makes the perfect gift for fans of Artichoke, Bjorn or uninhibitedly rockin’ food in general.

Bjorn Shen, chef-owner of popular and rebellious restaurant Artichoke, reveals the scrappy stories and recklessly creative recipes behind his deviant Middle Eastern enterprise in this no-holds barred memoir-cookbook. Expect stories on cooking accidents, tasteless jokes, masochistic behaviour, epic staff meals, ridiculous customer complaints and more.

His penchant for unapologetic, full-blown flavour is also reflected in recipes that run the gamut from Middle Eastern-inflected basturma-cured tuna to borderline insane offerings of Oreo ‘pancakes’, a Mamee salad and a humongous lamb shoulder called, appropriately, The Lambgasm.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

People of Artichoke Past Present
Tattoos Tomatoes
Staff Meals
Bacon is Evil We Must Destroy It with Our Teeth Chapter 14 Nothing Escapes the Fryer
Everyday I Die a Little
Artichoke Abroad
Lolly Bags
Overdoughs

A Lesson in Business
Whats So Difficult About That? Chapter 6 The Lousy Beetroot Salad
Cuts Burns
Reckless Creativity
The Lambgasm

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information