The Philosophy of Time

Front Cover
Robin Le Poidevin, Murray MacBeath
Oxford University Press, 1993 - Philosophy - 230 pages
This volume provides a balanced set of reviews which introduce the central topics in the philosophy of time. This is the first introductory anthology on the subject to appear for many years; the contributors are distinguished, and two of the essays are specially written for this collection. In their introduction, the editors summarize the background to the debate, and show the relevance of issues in the philosophy of time for other branches of philosophy and for science. Contributors include J.M.E. McTaggart, Arthur N. Prior, D.H. Mellor, Sydney Shoemaker, Graeme Forbes, Lawrence Sklar, Michael Dummett, David Lewis, W.H. Newton-Smith, and Anthony Quinton.

About the author (1993)

Robin Le Poidevin was a Research Fellow at the University of St Andrews (1988-9) and Lecturer in Philosophy at Oriel College, Oxford (1987). He lives in Farnhill, West Yorkshire. Andrew MacBeath lives in Dunblane, Perthshire.

Bibliographic information