Reflections on Liszt

Front Cover
Cornell University Press, 2005 - Biography & Autobiography - 277 pages
"No one knows more about Franz Liszt than Alan Walker."—Malcolm Bowie, Times Literary SupplementIn a series of lively essays that tell us much not only about the phenomenon that was Franz Liszt but also about the musical and cultural life of nineteenth-century Europe, Alan Walker muses on aspects of Liszt's life and work that he was unable to explore in his acclaimed three-volume biography of the great composer and pianist. Topics include Liszt's contributions to the Lied, the lifelong impact of his encounter with Beethoven, his influence on students who became famous in their own right, his accomplishments in transcribing and editing the works of other composers, and his innovative piano technique. One chapter is devoted to the Sonata in B Minor, perhaps Liszt's single most celebrated composition.Walker draws heavily on Liszt's astonishingly large personal correspondence with other composers, critics, pianists, and prominent public figures. All the essays reveal Walker's broad and deep knowledge of Liszt and Romantic music generally and, in some cases, his impatience with contemporary performance practice.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Liszt and the Beethoven Symphome I
Sonata in B Minor 12
Liszt ar tre Llei
Liszti lennuzi Sludi Some Inoughs art Arterthoughts
Lus 230

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

The Clever Body
Gabor Csepregi
Limited preview - 2006

About the author (2005)

Alan Walker is Professor Emeritus of Music at McMaster University, Canada, and author of numerous books, including The Death of Franz Liszt Based on the Unpublished Diary of His Pupil Lina Schmalhausen; Franz Liszt: The Virtuoso Years, 1811?1847 (volume 1); The Weimar Years, 1848?1861 (volume 2); and The Final Years, 1861?1886 (volume 3), all from Cornell, and Hans Von Bülow: A Life and Times. He has been awarded the Music Teachers National Association 2010 Achievement Award, the Royal Philharmonic Society Prize, and the medal Pro Cultura Hungarica, presented by the President of Hungary.

Bibliographic information